h1

The One About Updates

Wednesday, September 12, 2007

My life has a superb cast, but I can’t figure out the plot.
~Ashley Brilliant

I figured I should update on what’s been going on. I’ll just start with June and head from there.

I turned 25 in June. My birthday is always at that time of year when people are starting to take vacations and have weddings and graduation parties to go to. I stayed home with the pups for my birthday but was able to go out to lunch with Jamers (nickname for one of my best friends) and her family the day after. Good thing about turning 25? Muuuuch lower car insurance rates. Score!

I had my tonsils out on June 23. After having tonsillitis every day (except two) since April 27, it was about time. At first it went really well (I could eat small things, wasn’t in a lot of pain if I took my liquid Lortab, etc.), but on the 5th day, things turned horribly wrong. My tongue started swelling and I sobbed (silently because it was too painful to make a sound) just trying to swallow water.

Turns out I may have had a reaction to the antibiotic or possibly one of the pain medications. The doctor also said that it could have resulted from accidentally cutting tongue nerves that weren’t in “normal” places (this would also explain why I had a decreased sense of taste but it came back later). Because of the immense pain, they put me on Oxycontin and the liquid Lortab together. Didn’t quite touch the pain for a day or so, but it finally got back into check. And oh! was I flying as high as a kite. I felt druuuuunk!

Why am I telling you this? Well, during this pain medication-induced state of euphoria, I made a decision that could have turned out to be one of the stupidest in my life. But it turns out to have been one of the best decisions in my life: I agreed to meet a man I’d been talking to online off and on since April.

You may be asking why this could have ended up to be one of the stupidest decisions of my life. Well… I agreed to let him come over to my house for our first meeting. That was influenced by the pain drugs because my friends all know that I’m very careful about meeting new people and making sure someone at least knows who I’m with, where I’ll be and I have a certain time to call them just to make sure I’m okay. Yeah, not this time. For all I knew at the time, he could have been a serial killer posing as a nice guy and I was just letting him walk right in. I want to make this clear that I do not advocate this nor do I think anyone, under any circumstances should ever, ever meet someone for the first time in their own home or in a secluded place. There’s a warning on the Oxycontin label that says, “Do not make important decisions while using this drug.” There’s a reason why!

But again, it’s turned out to be one of the best decisions I could have ever made. I’m lucky. Lucky in many ways… that I didn’t invite a serial killer into my home and that I met a spectacularly wonderful guy. We began dating exclusively on July 1.

B (’cause those of you who know me know I don’t use names in an online blog unless the person says it is okay) is quite honestly the best guy I’ve ever dated (no offense to those whom I dated ’cause I have dated some great guys… we just didn’t click the way B and I do). And yes, I know that we haven’t been dating that long and that everything is smiles and roses at the beginning of a relationship… but still.

He’s seen me at my worst and didn’t run–heck, he met me at my worst– doped up on pain killers, in sweats, carrying around an extra 10 pounds thanks to two rounds of mega-loaded steroids and sporting a face that had been makeup-less for two weeks. At least I had showered that day, though I didn’t do anything with my hair or even blow dry it. But I did run a brush through my air-dried hair… yay me!

It doesn’t matter if I’m in a t-shirt, jeans and a ponytail or all dolled up for a night on the town… he still tells me I’m beautiful to him. He goes out of his way to do things for me like mowing my lawn or installing my new cooktop stove (thanks to my old one that literally melted because of a faulty pipe) or feeding my dogs or taking them outside. He’s a major cuddler (ya’ll know what a plus that is to me!) and one who will hold my hand (and even initiate it) whether we’re alone or with his friends. Okay, I’m sure you’ve had enough of my mushy-stuff talk.

In other news, Lulu the greyhound puppy has been at my house for over a year now. She went from 31 pounds of cuteness to over 70 pounds of leggy energy. She’s now 2 inches taller than Chase. I’m sure when she’s done growing (she still has 6 months to a year left!!) and filling out, she’ll top Chase by 5 or 10 pounds in weight. And she looooooooves B. So much that if I get up off the couch, she’ll be in his lap before I even get two or three steps away. Sometimes I feel as though I’m being cheated on (kidding). I’m sure glad he loves animals (including cats!) ’cause I just couldn’t see myself long-term with anyone who doesn’t.

Enough of the updates for now. But here’s a photo of Lulu and one of both her and Chase on the couch.

What?  I’m innocent I tell ya! No room for me!

2 comments

  1. […] shirt My Life Has A Superb Cast, But I Can’t Figure Out the Plot […]


  2. Very interesting. Great quoute.



Leave a Reply

