h1

The One About the Weight

Monday, September 17, 2007

I keep trying to lose weight… but it keeps finding me!
~Author Unknown

It’s that time once again. Two and a half years ago, I lost 14 pounds and then yo-yo-ed with an additional five after that. I started gaining it back last winter and for each of the set of two steroid packets I had to take for the tonsillitis, I gained five pounds. Yes, that’s right… I weigh 10 pounds more than I did at the beginning of June. Fuuuun.

So I’m back to my diet as of this morning. I’ll be eating six times a day (breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner and snack)Scale but will only be eating approximately 1,200 calories a day. Last time, it only took me six weeks or so to lose it, so I’m hoping to have the majority of it gone by the Military Ball (November 8… 7 weeks away).

Granted, I lost 6 pounds in one week during that time because my dad was so sick and then he died. Not feeling hungry to eat anything at all will do that to you… but I don’t recommend it. My body was only able to keep it off because I had been working out and on the diet the weeks before and I kept up the diet after (I was in a bit of a depression and got really sick with a horrible sinus infection, so I didn’t feel like working out). This time I know it will take longer as I’m two years older and I will be working this off naturally instead of a bad event happening.

So I’ll have a page up under my “Pages” section that will be updated with diet stuff. You can follow it with me. I might even put tips and tricks up there too.

I know there are a million different diets out there and there are people who can prove that each diet works, but when you come right down to it, you don’t need them. It’s a simple scientific fact: your weight directly corresponds to how many calories you eat vs. how many you expend. To lose weight, you need to be using up more calories than you eat. To maintain, you need to have equal numbers. That’s it. Honestly. The hardest part of a diet like this is to figure out how many calories you need and calculating the calories in each food you are eating.

Anyway, more on that in the “Pages” section, which will be called “The Great Weight Debate.” Why? Because I like rhymes!

B will also be doing the diet with me. He says he wants to lose 40 pounds. That may sound like a lot, but with him being 6’5″, it takes a lot to make any difference at all. Though, honestly, I like him just the way he is but I support him in whatever he wants to do.

As for the weekend, I was able to accomplish 4 1/2 of my 6 goals. Lulu is now up-to-date on her shots, I opened a credit union account (and they think they can drop the interest rate on my car from 5.99% to a flat 5%.. yay!) though I still have to officially switch stuff over, I spent time with B (gotta love that!) and I did catch up on my sleep (and I think my flare is over… yay!). The half goal? I cleaned my bedroom (no more clothes everywhere) and did some dishes and picked up and vacuumed the livingroom (no more ticker-tape parade, Greyhound-style). I didn’t get as much cleaning as I’d have liked to, but it’s a good start. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see my two friends from Holland, but they never called me to tell me what was going on. Another time, I guess.

Leave a Reply

