h1

The One About Baseball

Wednesday, September 19, 2007

I don’t want to play golf. When I hit a ball, I want someone else to go chase it.
~Rogers Hornsby

So this Saturday, B and I will be going to a Detroit Tigers game to meet up with Jamers, her nephew Bug (her nickname for him) and one of our coworkers and her family/friends. Should be fun. I haven’t ever been to a Major League game but I do enjoy baseball.

I played T-ball and then softball for seven years from Kindergarten through 6th grade. In the softball years, I wasBaseball generally either a pitcher or a catcher. I wasn’t sure if I could do fast-pitch (which is what you had to do in 7th grade) and frankly, trying to be at bat while watching a fast pitch kinda scared me. A lot. So I didn’t go any farther and just kept up with soccer and horseback riding.

Well, soccer for another year, anyway, until I severely tore my groin muscle. But that’s another story.

Anyway, B and I will be going to my mom’s house (about an hour out of the way) to drop off my dogs because Jamers is usually my dog-sitter when I’m out of town and she’ll, of course, be with us. Unfortunately, B has told me that he has to work Saturday morning, so I may end up having to go ahead of him and let him come along to meet us later on his motorcycle.

I do want to spend some time with my family because yesterday was my brother’s 22nd birthday (how did he get that old?!) and he’s also leaving in a month and a half to go to Pennsylvania to be trained on working on Audi cars (he has a degree in high-performance engine repair). My mom’s birthday is around the corner in about three weeks, so I’ll probably go back one more time between this weekend and the first of November, when my brother leaves.

Of course, I may also be at my mom’s house for a bit the weekend of November 8th because B and I are going to his Military Ball/dinner/training session which is on that side of the state. That should be fun and I get to see him dressed up in his Dress Blues. Yummy! 😀

Leave a Reply

