h1

The One About Animals in Cars

Tuesday, September 25, 2007

I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me they are the role model for being alive.
~Gilda Radner

I was going to write this yesterday, but I didn’t end up getting to it.

When leaving work to go home for lunch, I noticed that there was a car parked sideways across two or three parking spaces. I thought it was odd since it didn’t look like a new car but figured, what the heck! We aren’t busy right now so no big deal.

Until I noticed a medium-sized lab/chow/golden-looking mix sitting in the car. At 12:30 in the afternoon. When it was 86 degrees outside and expected to reach 89 or 90. Sure the windows were cracked about two inches all the way around, but I’d love to make the owners sit in that car for at least three hours in a fur coat.Dog in car

I saw them walking the dog just as we opened around 9 but thought nothing of it as sometimes people drop family members off and continue on their way (I work at a museum). So I know that poor dog was there for at least 3 and most likely 3 1/2 hours.

Of course I called our front desk so they could get the floor manager on duty to get the owners out to the car and then I left. Apparently, they came out not too soon after I left but before the manager could get there. Stupid people! Would you leave a baby in there in that heat? Ok, stupid question because you never know… they might.

Rant over.

So this weekend was a bust. B ended up having to work (you can’t argue with the military ’cause they can put you in jail!) most of the day and by the time he found out, I was already at my mom’s. I couldn’t get a hold of my brother, either, so I just ended up selling the tickets to my mom’s neighbors for half price. Oh well.. it was some gas money at least. B felt really bad about it, and yes, I was pissed, but I wasn’t mad at him in any way. He had no control over it and couldn’t do a darn thing about it.

So my mom and I ended up going to a store to see if they had a dress for the Military Ball. And I found one! It ended up to be about $60 less than the one B and I had seen at David’s Bridal and I like it a lot more.

The one at DB was beautiful strapless satin dress with a ballgown-type A-line skirt. It was black but had a split up the side of the skirt that had a white satin panel. Very pretty. I was worried about strapless though, because I don’t usually look good in them, although this one looked good for being strapless. I was also worried about the black being at the top close to my skin because I have such pale skin. Also have been told that if you have red hair (I have light brown with natural red and blonde highlights), black doesn’t work well and I’m thinking of dying my hair red again (Marcia Cross red… looks awesome on me and makes my pale winter skin look sooo much better).

The dress we got is a more figure-hugging dress that has spaghetti straps and a kind of sweetheart neckline (kinda like a bathing suit top). It’s also black but the chest is white and it has a white panel down the center and a white sash that ties in the back at my waist. I could only focus on the hips that I’m trying to lose (you girls all know how horrible dressing room lighting and mirrors are! ) but my mom said the white panel down the front makes me look ThisBig. Works for me!

So while it sucked that I couldn’t go to the game, yay for getting a beautiful (cheaper!) dress 🙂

Leave a Reply

