h1

The One About Being in Love

Monday, October 1, 2007

You know when you have found your prince because you not only have a smile on your face but in your heart as well.
~Author Unknown

It’s true. I’m in love. I’ve known it for a few weeks now but haven’t said it aloud because I wanted to make sure and I didn’t want B to feel like he had to say it if he wasn’t ready. But he kinda started challenging me (“I like you a lot a lot” “Prove it.” –type thing).

And for those of you who know me, ever since my dad died suddenly, I make it a point to tell those whom I love and care for how much they mean to me. My mom and I say it at the end of each e-mail and each phone conversation. We used toHolding hands say it quite a bit before but not religiously. And even my brother started telling me he loved me at the end of phone conversations. It really took me aback that, at 22 years old, my 19-year-old brother initiated the “I love you” during a conversation.

My motto—and that of my family’s—is to tell someone how you feel about them whenever you leave or hang up the phone. Because, well, you never know when it might be the last time you see them.

So it’s been killing me for the last few weeks to not say something to him… especially when he had his accident. Oh man, I was panicking for a bit thinking that he was really hurt and didn’t know how I felt about him.

So I ended up telling him Saturday morning while we were lying in bed. He didn’t say anything back and to tell you the truth, I’m glad he didn’t. I wouldn’t want it to seem like he said it back because he felt he had to. This isn’t something I take lightly, either… the last time I said that to someone other than my family was nearly seven years ago. I don’t say it to everyone—or even most, or really even a few people—I date.

So Saturday we got up, went to IHOP and decided to go to Michigan City, Indiana to hit the outlet mall there and to go 15 minutes further south to the Bass Pro Shop to get some bullets for his gun. On the way, he asked me if I wanted to go to the boot camp/naval base that is just north of Chicago. I was up for pretty much anything, so I told him sure! He wanted to get some stuff from the NEX (Navy store where there’s no sales tax for them) and check out uniform shoes and stuff.

This naval base/boot camp is where B did his boot camp training, so he knew it pretty well. He gave me a tour and it’s always fun and exciting to learn more about him/see where he’s been. It ended up taking waaay more time getting there and coming back than we’d expected (dang Chicago traffic), so we just ended up stopping at the Bass Pro Shop (it was nearly 8 p.m. at that time) and headed home.

Just as we were about to leave Indiana and head into Michigan, Chris Cagle’s song, What a Beautiful Day came on and I started to sing along.

“Day one, I stumbled through hello on 5th Ave
Day two, we grabbed a bite to eat
And talked all afternoon
Caught a movie on day fourteen
And day sixty-seven she said “I love you” to me”

And when I got to that line, B said, “It’s more like day eighty-something, but it’s okay because I love you, too.” (Today is three months for us)

Okay, time for a collective, “awwwwwwwwwwwww!”

When I figured out what he was saying, I had to hold back the girly tears and blink a few times. It was seriously one of the sweetest, cutest things I’d ever heard. I’ve said it a few times since then and he’s echoed it… but he’s also initiated it and said it to me. I’m such a lucky woman. And now, for the chorus of the song.

“Oh, what a feelin’
What a wonderful emotion
Yeah, what a life
Counting my blessings and knowin’
Ooh, we had our ups and downs
All along the way
She had a chance to leave
But chose to stay
What a beautiful day
What a beautiful day.”

Leave a Reply

