h1

The One About the Little Things

Wednesday, October 10, 2007

Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see. 
~Mark Twain

I appreciate the little things in life… I truly do.  I love that first smell of fresh-cut lawn in the spring.  And I love the smell of crisp leaves in the fall.  I love the first snowflakes of the season (though I admit any snow after January 1 is not appreciated!).

And what I truly love are the little things that people do for you.

B is the kindest, most thoughtful man I’ve ever met.  Just this morning while I was in the shower, he fed my dogs, closedKiss and locked my open window, gathered all the trash from the different room and took it out to the curb… and he left an “I love you” type note on my computer so that when I turned it on I’d see it.  And that was just this morning.

When he sees something that needs to be done, he does it.  Seriously.  And while we haven’t been dating too incredibly long, I think he’s past the “gotta impress the woman” stage and is just doing this because that is the man he is.  I would be the happiest person in the world if the man I married did little things like this for the rest of our lives.

Again, I haven’t dated bad guys.  But they just didn’t recognize the little things like this that make a big difference to me.  I’m sure they would have had no problem doing these things, but when you have to ask them to do things, it’s not the same.  It’s not like I can’t do these things on my own… because I have been for years.  But when they are done for me, it makes me feel appreciated, special… and loved.

I think I’ve finally found the guy my mom always told me to look for… one that puts you on a pedestal.  I just hope that he feels like he’s on one in my eyes too with things I do for him.  Because relationships are 50-50.

I truly appreciate every little thing he does for me… and I let him know how much I do.

Leave a Reply

