h1

The One About a Possible Puppy

Tuesday, October 23, 2007

The inability to make a decision has often been passed off as patience.
~Author Unknown

So B will be moving in in the next few months. That means a lot of cleaning out for me… which is a good thing since I have too much crap in my house. Crap that is still in boxes after moving in 2 years ago (Sunday is the 2 year mark of owning my house!). Obviously if I haven’t used it, I don’t need it. Well, other than the extra plates and dishes that me, as one person, doesn’t need in my cupboards.

But beyond that, B wants a dog of his own. He’s been wanting one for a long time. He loves my dogs and all, but he wants one that is more solid and more rough-and-tumble and one that is more of a watchdog.

Hey, my dogs are watch dogs… they watch whatever is going on. While staying on the couch, of course.

So we are researching dogs. He wants a purebreed because he wants specific traits and you really can’t tell what you are going to get at a shelter. Don’t get me wrong… I totally advocate for adopting a dog from a shelter or rescue group. I mean, all my animals were from adoption groups except Sadie, who was abandoned in a lumber warehouse by her feral mom—and I still volunteer for my local Greyhound adoption group.

So since he wants an AKC dog, I’m making sure that we find a reputable breeder that only breeds for the betterment of the breed and not for the money… read: no puppymill.

Right now, we are looking at a Great Pyrenees (Pyr to those who know the breed). B wants a dog that is huge (with him being 6’5”, that’s pretty understandable) and that is a watch/guard dog. I didn’t want a breed that has a reputation forPhoto from Dogwood Kennels being aggressive as we might have to rent for a while in Washington and some breeds are restricted from renting. A breed that isn’t too hyper so that it matches my current dogs’ activity levels would be a must. I also wanted a breed that was good with other dogs and cats and definitely with kids as I plan to have some at some point. Click here to look at a photo story (which is what the photo to the right is) about a young Pyr who didn’t like the way an infant was uncomfortably leaning in his walker and tried to get him to sit up straight by nuzzling and nudging him until he got frustrated enough to sit there and stare at the mother until she came to fix the baby to the dog’s liking. It’s soooo sweet!  The photo is from Dogwoods Kennels, which is one breeder we are looking at.

The Great Pyrenees is a watch dog that looooves children and other animals but it will defend its territory and “pack” (read: his/her humans and other animals) if needed. They do allow strangers to come in the house… but only if a family member invites them. I know this would give B peace of mind while he is gone 2 ½ months on the submarine.

The only down side to them is that they shed a lot, especially when they blow their coat. I read that when they blow their coat once a year, “you will think that it snowed in your house.” Eh, I grew up in the country. Dog hair doesn’t bother me. That’s why I got a Dyson Animal vacuum. And why I’m going to be taking all the carpeting out of my house 😉

We are currently researching breeders and have been in contact with a few asking questions. I bought a book called The New Complete Great Pyrenees by Paul Strang off Ebay.  The book was recommended by Dogwoods Kennels. We are going to a dog show two hours away in Ft. Wayne next weekend to meet some breeders and get up close to these dogs to see if they are really for us.

The reasons we aren’t going all-out and saying yes to getting a dog is that my house is small. We are trying to see how we can physically put another dog in the bedroom (there’s really not much room) as well as putting one in my Hyundai Tucson. As a puppy it wouldn’t be a problem, but as an adult it might be quite tight. He he… I might have to buy a new vehicle just to support my dogs!

But then I think about puppy breath and a sweet little ball of fur… that will become a whirling dervish of puppy/adolescent energy and accidents and chewing and digging before finally settling down as an adult. Hmmmm…to tell you the truth, I can’t wait!

One comment

  1. Came by blog surfing 🙂 Enjoyed your site and photos 😀

    GPs are such awesome dogs, and the cutest puppies in the universe. I have a soft spot for puppies, and have to stay away from the shelter during the high puppy intake times. *sigh* As for the hyundai… we can fit all three of our medium sized dogs (two mutts, one Rhodie) in the back of ours with NO room left for anything. I am lobbying hard for one of those whopper box car topper dealies.



Leave a Reply

