h1

The One About Thursday Thirteens- 3rd Edition

Thursday, October 25, 2007

Animals are such agreeable friends – they ask no questions, they pass no criticisms.
~George Eliot

It’s time for the Thursday Thirteen again. If you have a Thursday Thirteen of your own, leave your website in the comments section and I’ll visit it 🙂

Thirteen Pets I have had Throughout My Life

  1. Fonzie. Fonzie was my first pet. My parents got him as a wedding present (he was supposed to be full poodle but ended up to be a cock-a-poo) and when I came along, he was always at my side–until I learned how to crawl. Then I tormented the poor dog and he hated me (and any other kids) from then on. He died when he was something like 12.
  2. Ginger. Ginger was the first dog that was for me. She was a Golden Retriever/something mix. I think she was a free puppy at the local county fair and my parents brought her home for me since Fonzie hated my guts (with good reason). I don’t remember much about Ginger, but she ran away when her puppies (oops) were about 6 weeks old.
  3. Brandon. Brandon was one of Ginger’s puppies and looked full-blooded Golden Retriever. He was seriously the dumbest dog I ever met–he didn’t learn to even sit on command until he was 11 of so. But I loved him very much and he was always a sweetheart. I named him Brandon after Punky Brewster’s dog. He lived to be 14 and died my freshman year of college while I was away.
  4. Blackie. Blackie was our first cat (and was black in color… duh!) that my mom brought home to control the mice population in our old farmhouse. My mom broached the subject of a cat to my dad and he said, “I won’t have a cat in my house!” So my mom went out and brought Blackie home the next day because she said it was her house too and my dad didn’t make the rules. He was a stray and was an indoor/outdoor cat because we lived in farm country. Unfortunately, he was hit by a car.
  5. Pixie. Pixie was a Sheltie that was given to my dad as payment for some carpentry work he did. My mom wasn’t too happy because we needed the money, not another dog. But she fell in love with her–who couldn’t fall in love with a little Sheltie puppy? Unfortunately, Pixie was killed on the road in front of my brother when she ran across the road (she never did this) to meet a neighbor’s dog who looked exactly like Brandon. She was halfway across when she realized it wasn’t Brandon, so she came back. She didn’t make it all the way 😦
  6. Heidi. Pixie was killed less than a week after my grandfather choked to death in front of us. None of us could handle the double loss so my parents went out and got another Sheltie to help us fill the void. She died during my freshman year of college, too.
  7. Friskie. Friskie was the cat we got after Blackie. My dad by this point had grown to really like cats and had to help us pick him out. He was a beautiful black and white cat. Unfortunately, he was also an inside/outside cat to help control the mice population both in our house and in the horse barn. He was our last cat killed on the road because we started keeping them inside.
  8. Archie. Archie was the next cat in the household… a beautiful and HUGE white cat with grey/tan tiger spots. He was 12 weeks old when we got him from one of my classmates and was nearly feral. He’s still alive today at age 13 and is living with my mom.
  9. Lexi. Lexi was one of Heidi’s puppies that we kept because my mom “just had a feeling.” A year after Lexi was born, Heidi died. We now know why my mom “had the feeling” to keep Lexi. Lexi is still alive and living with my mom.
  10. Sadie. Sadie was my first animal that I got myself as an adult. She’s a beautiful white and calico and was born to a feral mother who abandoned the kittens when they were only 3 weeks old in the lumberyard where my dad worked. My dad brought her home for a neighbor but she didn’t make it that far 🙂
  11. Jake. Jake is a gorgeous black and white cat that I adopted from a group after college when I got my first job. I wanted Sadie to have some companionship while I was gone during the day.
  12. Chase. I decided I wanted a dog when I bought my first house and after much research, decided on Greyhounds and wanted to foster some before I adopted. Chase was my third foster and is handsome red boy. He never left.
  13. Lulu. I had decided to stop fostering after a bit because Chase wasn’t happy with having fosters around. But I heard a plea through a Greyhound forum that they needed to get some puppies out of Kansas because a farmer was giving them up. I gave in and said I’d foster two of the 4 1/2 month old puppies. Both Lulu and her sister were cute blue fawns. I fostered them for a while, but only one left 🙂

That’s only 13 of my animals. I haven’t even gotten into any of the horses, rabbits, fish and hamsters I had growing up. That’s for another time 🙂

3 comments

  1. Wow, what happy and sad all rolled tegether. Quite a list. Have a great TT. 🙂


  2. You’ve had a lot of pets! Nice list.


  3. what great animal friends you’ve had! i feel like i can relate as my family has always loved having pets too! right now at my parents’ home there are 2 dogs n seriously too many other animals to count!



Leave a Reply

