h1

The One About the Long Weekend

Monday, November 12, 2007

Weekends are a bit like rainbows; they look good from a distance but disappear when you get up close to them.
~John Shirley

Wow, so I didn’t have time to do a Thursday Thirteen last week because I only worked half a day and then had to finish packing and drove my dogs 2 hours east to my mom’s place of work so she could take them to her house for the weekend while I went on east for another 30 minutes to get to the place where B and I were staying for his Navy weekend.

Whew!

Long story short, the Navy didn’t reserve enough rooms for all of us, so we had to go to a hotel that was 10 minutes away.  I mean, it was a much better hotel (we all had suites and full, cooked-to-order breakfasts and stuff) but it was a pain to drive back and forth to the other hotel because everything we had to do was over there.  It took us a bit more than 30 minutes to go there Friday evening (driving Friday night rush-hour traffic on I-696 is never fun!).  We ended up being there right at 5:30 (1730 hours), which was when we were supposed to get there, but so many people were late that we didn’t get the pictures that we were supposed to have time for.

The dinner and award ceremony lasted something like 5 hours.  It was a long one but B was recognized and award a Navy Achievement Medal.  Too bad his station was overlooked as large station of the year for another station that didn’t meet all their goals (his station did!).  They weren’t too happy about that.

Anyway, we went and met a Pyr breeder on Saturday after we were done on the east side of the state.  Her dogs are  twice as expensive as the others we’ve checked out, but she also guarantees  her dogs’ health for life.  She also has them spayed/neutered and microchipped before they are sent home, so that’s an expense we wouldn’t have to do.

It’s up to B as it’s going to be “his” dog and he’s going to spend the money for it.  She said she might be able to negotiate with us after I mentioned that I’ve done websites in the past… so I’m going to be checking prices on the software that I’d have to buy for that.

Speaking of websites and computers.  I think my computer died.  It won’t go past the start-up screen.  This is the second or third time in two and a half years that I’d have to buy a new computer.  Balls!  I think I’m going to look at Macs or something else that won’t die in a year on me.

Leave a Reply

