h1

The One About the New Stove

Tuesday, November 13, 2007

How is it that our memory is good enough to retain the least triviality that happens to us, and yet not good enough to recollect how often we have told it to the same person? 
~François Duc de La Rochefoucauld

Yay!  I am now able to use my stove!  After my old cooktop stove literally melted on me back in late July, I finally have a stove.  We’ve had procrastination, wrong fittings, a new cooktop that didn’t work correctly, a back-ordered new cooktop, cancellation of new cooktop because I was getting all new appliances, waiting for new appliances, more procrastination and being insanely busy and finally, it’s done.

B was able to re-wire for the new range (it’s electric and the cooktop was not only in a different place, but it was also gas) yesterday and I helped a bit after I got home from work.  Lucky him, he had the day off for Veteran’s Day since he works for the Navy.

So I cooked ravioli on it.  I’m so tired of baking the quick-bake dinners in the oven because there are only, like, six varieties of them and they get pretty boring after a while.  I just want tacos or spaghetti or a Skillet Sensation or something different every once in a while.  And now I can.  YAY!

Still waiting on word about my computer from the IT person here at work.  He seems to think it’s the power source, which would only be like $30 to replace.  That would be nice!  I’d still want to get a new monitor since mine is past its usefulness.  I also still need to get the web design programs, so we’ll see about that.

Thanksgiving is next week.  After that, it’s time for CHRISTMAS COOKIE BAKING!  And I can actually use all my cookie sheets (the wall oven would only hold the small ones, not the large or regular sized ones I had) and even- *gasp* -use more than one cookie sheet in the oven at a time!  Oh the baking I will do this year!

Leave a Reply

