h1

The One About Thursday Thirteens- 5th Edition

Thursday, November 15, 2007

Be curious always! For knowledge will not acquire you; you must acquire it.
~Sudie Back

It’s time for the Thursday Thirteen again. If you have a Thursday Thirteen of your own, leave your website in the comments section and I’ll visit it 🙂

Thirteen Things You May Not Know About Me

  1. When I was a freshman in high school, I was able to max out on the leg press at 400 pounds (407 or 413 was the actual number, I believe). I weighed 108 pounds at the time.
  2. I would be lucky to be able to do half that now. And I definitely weigh more than 108 now!
  3. I hate winter with a passion (most of you know!) but I absolutely LOVE the first snowfall (today!) and the firstSnow on tree blanket of snow on the ground.
  4. Snow is okay until January 1st. After that, I vehemently want it to leave and be summer again. I’d be okay with snow if it came at 70 degrees.
  5. Though I don’t dislike it, I don’t enjoy cooking very much.
  6. But I absolutely LOVE to bake.
  7. I even won Best In Show for one of my cookies when I was about 11 at the County Fair.
  8. The cookie was licked by my cat when we were packing to leave and the cookies were on the counter. My mom didn’t tell me because she didn’t want to upset me.
  9. At that same fair, I won a huuuuuuge trophy (3 ft. tall!) for Best In Show Vegetable for my potatoes.
  10. I nearly killed those same potatoes when my mom told me that I should fertilize them as close around the base of the plant as I could get. My interpretation: put fertilizer down the center of the plant so it’ll drop closer to the base. Luckily, my parents caught what happened two days later and washed all the plants off before they were all burned by the fertilizer. Most plants still died but the ones that lived produced massive potatoes… I’m talking potatoes that were about nine inches long and five inches tall.
  11. I once did zip-lining in the Costa Rican rainforest about 90 feet above the ground. I was 16 and with my Spanish Club.
  12. I have an easy time learning languages and even accents (according to my teachers who thought I had perfect accents). If I’m around someone with an accent very long, it will accidentally start coming out in my speech every so often.
  13. I haven’t had a Spanish class in 7 years but still will talk to myself in Spanish so I don’t forget—I mostly do it in the shower.
13 comments

  1. I do the same thing as your #2. If I’m around anyone with any type of accent I pick it up after awhile.
    It was nice learning more about you!
    My 13 is up as well.


  2. Nice Thursday post, hope you are having a nice day! I just posted my Thursday Thirteen with a few add-ons! Please stop by my blog if you can!


  3. I do the same things…I love to bake and speak to myself in Spanish just so I can keep it up. Too bad people often hear my talking to myself!


  4. hahahahaha! i love the bit about fertilizing potatos!
    happy tt!


  5. Those are very unique and neat things!
    Still giggling at the cat lick.
    Those were some BIG potatoes!
    Terrific Thursday Thirteen!
    My TT is posted.
    Have a wonderful day!
    Happy TT’ing!
    *^_^
    (=’:’=)
    (“)_ (“)Š
    Raggedy


  6. Jen, I hate winter and don’t care to cook either! Glad to get to know you better. 🙂

    Come visit my TT post.


  7. That’s a great list! I despise snow…ick!


  8. Happy TT!!! I’m with you on the accent!!! 🙂


  9. Those must have been some impressive (chosen even though they had been licked by a cat) and tempting cookies. LOL

    I used to hate winter too until I moved to Texas. I missed it so much we moved back up North.


  10. I’d rather bake, too. As for snow… we’re supposed to get our first dusting tonight. We shall see…

    Happy TT!


  11. My sister wants to do #11. I’m way too cowardly. What a rush it must have been.

    Thanks for visiting The Pink Flamingo

    SJR


  12. I loathe snow too! And I’d love to try ziplining.


  13. BUT I LIKE WINTERS AND ALSO HAVE SO MANY THINGS TO DO.



Leave a Reply

