h1

The One About Thursday Thirteens- 11th Edition

Thursday, February 21, 2008

Winter is nature’s way of saying, “Up yours.”
~Robert Byrne


It’s time for the Thursday Thirteen again. If you have a Thursday Thirteen of your own, leave your website in the comments section and I’ll try my darndest to visit it 🙂

snow-on-tree.jpg

Thirteen Reasons Why I’m Tired of Winter

 

  1. The Great Lakes are wonderful… during the summer. In the winter, they produce something called lake-effect snow. It’ll snow even without a storm and even with barely (if any) cloud cover.
  2. A Lake Effect Snow Warning and Blowing Snow Warning coupled together= tons of snow that you can’t see.
  3. When the windchill goes into the negative numbers (-35F here was the worst so far this winter), your eyes water from the pain and your tears freeze to your face. I won’t even mention what happens if you have a runny nose.
  4. Leash walking an injured dog in said weather for 6 weeks, at least 4 times a day is no fun.
  5. I don’t mind driving in the snow/ice… it’s the other stupid drivers on the road that scare me.Photo taken by Jenny Rollo
  6. One day of 40 degree rainy weather on top of the 10 inches of fallen snow, followed by freezing rain and then another layer of snow is not my idea of a good time.
  7. Trying to walk in heels across the employee parking lot (or even my driveway!) after the above weather pattern produces an ugly array of bruises.
  8. Did I mention how much I hate the cold weather?
  9. I hate having to choose between sitting in my car for 20 minutes to let it warm up or letting it warm up while I’m getting ready and taking a chance of having some young punk jump in it and drive away. One way or another, it has to warm up otherwise it could hurt the engine.
  10. In subzero temperatures, you shouldn’t let the gas tank get below 1/2 full. It feels like I’m filling up every other day.
  11. I hate having to get dressed up like a Christmas turkey just to go get the mail. Shirt, sweater, hat, gloves, scarf, boots and finally a coat to walk the 30 seconds it takes to get the mail. It takes longer to dress and undress than it does to walk there!
  12. Speaking of getting dressed up… everything takes longer to do because of it. Add 5 minutes per dog to dress them up in their coats (greyhounds have to have them in this weather) and another 5 minutes for yourself every time you want to go anywhere. It takes a planning list just to jump in the car to get some milk.
  13. Did I mention how much I hate the cold? My fingers are perpetually purple from October to May.
2 comments

  1. It does not get this bad by lake Erie in Ohio, but close. I am right there with you and I hate winter.
    Stay warm!


  2. Wow – you just made me so glad that I live in Florida (well 10 minutes from Florida)! I HATE HATE HATE cold weather and I could go the rest of my life without ever seeing snow. Sending warm thoughts 🙂



Leave a Reply

