h1

The One About Mom’s Visit

Monday, February 25, 2008

My mom is a neverending song in my heart of comfort, happiness, and being. I may sometimes forget the words but I always remember the tune.
~Graycie Harmon

So B went to Bangor Naval Base in Washington to study for his next rank exam. It’s a good thing he was able to go, too, because he just texted me and told me there was going to be some new material on the test that is completely alien to him. It’s too bad he can’t take some more time off (he was going to but they “lost” his request… twice).

I’m also disappointed (read: really disappointed) that they lost his extra time request because I was going to go out there and see him. I have never been to Washington and haven’t had a vacation now in almost two years. Oh, I’ve had days off… six weeks last year for illness, including my tonsillitis/strep throat and subsequent tonsillectomy. Plus the two times I’ve been sick already this year (5 days total… stupid steroids they put me on last June are still lowering my already-compromised immune system). Can’t wait to get done with the 12 months after steroids… only two more months to go. So yeah, lots of time off… but no vacation.

*sigh* So I’ve told B that we are going to have to set a date for going on an actual vacation and get his chit in months ahead of time… and GO. I just really need something to look forward to. I think I’m going to suggest to him that we go see his mom in Texas (whom I haven’t met and he hasn’t seen in a while) and just do a long roadtrip and do some sightseeing along the way. We’d just have to decide if we wanted to take the dogs or not (two Greyhounds and a Great Pyrenees puppy). Hmm… not sure about that one!

Anyway, my mom decided to come over and visit me.  Actually, I think she was very lonely because even after I moved away to college, my brother was 4 years behind in school and then spent three years at school in Ohio… but he’d come home virtually every weekend.  He’s been in an Audi training school since October and has only been home once at Christmas.  I hadn’t seen her since Christmas, either, so I’m pretty sure she was missing her kids.  So I said sure, come on over!

We ended up doing a lot of cleaning and stuff, so that was good.  I still have a lot more to do, but the kitchen is out of the way… and that’s what has been holding me up.

But it was good to see her… I want to see her as much as I can before B and I move.  I’m very close to her and it’ll be hard being away.

Leave a Reply

