h1

The One About Thursday Thirteens- 19th Edition

Thursday, April 17, 2008

Volunteers don’t get paid, not because they’re worthless, but because they’re priceless.
~Sherry Anderson

It’s time for the Thursday Thirteen again. If you have a Thursday Thirteen of your own, leave your website in the comments section and I’ll try my darndest to visit it )

Thursday Thirteen
I enjoy volunteering, I really do. It makes my day knowing that I make someone else’s day. I can have the worst day in the world, but when I go to do pet therapy at a local hospital, I come back home with all the worries gone. If you don’t volunteer, you should think about it… we all can make this world a better place by helping our fellow people.
Thirteen Ways to Volunteer
  1. Go to your local hospital. They can always use people to transport patients, deliver flowers, sit at the information desk, and even do pet therapy… like Chase and I do!
  2. Check out the nearest Big Brothers Big Sisters and volunteer to be a Big. B and I are doing this as a Big Couple… we just received our first potential match, too! With only a few hours each month, statistics in just our local community shows that, on average, 85% of Littles show greater self-confidence, 80% have a better attitude about school and 77% have improved grades.
  3. Visit your local zoo, aquarium or museum… they always have a need for volunteers and generally rely on them to keep their doors open.
  4. Help a family get back on their feet by helping them build a house with Habitat for Humanity.
  5. Go to your local animal shelter. They need people to help walk dogs, feed animals, clean cages and even give adoption information. And if you have room in your home, many need foster families.
  6. Volunteer with the Red Cross. Even if you don’t live in an area that has disasters like wildfires and hurricanes, each day someone’s house burns down… and the Red Cross is there to help them start getting back on their feet.
  7. Contact any local 501(c)3 non-profit charity. Many of the smaller ones need people with specialties (web design, graphic design, etc) to keep them up and running.
  8. Contact your local non-profit hospice organization. They may need patient sitters, grief advocates, pet therapy and many other things.
  9. Contact your local Girl Scout or Boy Scout council.
  10. Check out the nearest homeless shelter or food bank
  11. Go to your nearest parks and recreation department… help beautify your city!
  12. Visit your nearest library… they sometimes need help re-shelving books, etc.
  13. Check out websites like Volunteer Match or look in your local newspaper… many times volunteer needs are published here.
6 comments

  1. I do #11; not just in the parks, but on my daily walks with my dog. People are slobs! Lately, the trend seems to be smashing bottles…dangerous for little paws (and big ones, too!).


  2. This is such an important topic. I’ve always volunteered, and I hope the next generation will take up the flag. Thank you for this wonderful list.


  3. What a great informative list. Thank you.


  4. I walk dogs at Animal Shelter and enjoy it. Great list! Have a wonderful weekend!


  5. I do have one of my own, and it’s very similar – we both talk about volunteering and ways to help people! Mine is about ways to support children who are being abused, and I think volunteering is one of the best!


  6. The list was absolutely thought provoking!loved it!



Leave a Reply

