h1

The One About Money

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

I am having an out-of-money experience.
~Author Unknown

The economy is tough everywhere. But nowhere is it more obvious than in Michigan. June’s nationwide unemployment rate was 5.5%, which isn’t very good, but at least it’s improving. In Michigan, it was 8.5%… the highest in the nation. That’s sad. That’s really sad.

I know I’ve been feeling the pinch. Gas prices are astronomical. Milk has gone up more than $1 a gallon in the last year or so, fresh vegetables and fruit is insane. Heck, even the ground turkey I buy has gone up $0.20 a pound in the last two months. And that’s way cheaper than beef.

I found a link yesterday that allowed me to compare the rate of inflation from any given month to any other given month. I decided to see what the rate of inflation has been from when I bought my house in October 2005 through the end of June. Guess what it was—9.85%. Seriously. I know my salary hasn’t increased by nearly 10%… which means I haven’t been imagining things when I kept thinking I was way better off financially a couple years ago than now. Nope, the rate of inflation has skyrocketed, the Michigan economy is the worst in the nation (which it has been since it took over the top spot from Louisiana and Mississippi just a few months after Katrina… and it’s stayed there).

I’m at the point where I’m about to start looking for a part-time job. I’d like to keep Sundays free because that’s the only day B has off most weeks (even though he worked for several hours this past Sunday too… his first day off in 14 days will be this coming Sunday—hopefully) and that’s when we take our Little Brother (we’re a Big Couple in Big Brothers/Big Sisters). We’ve made a commitment to the boy and can’t let him down.

I have one iron in the fire that I’m waiting on before I start looking around at the local bars and restaurants to see if anyone needs a waitress. I don’t want to have to do this, but sometimes you have to do what you have to do. Though I shouldn’t have to do this with a full-time job in a field that requires a degree. But I work at a non-profit. In a bad economy. In the worst state of the whole economy. Without much choice to work anywhere else.

What I wouldn’t give to go back to being and kid and the only thing I’d be worrying about at this time of year would be getting my county fair projects done and trying not to think about the fact that school would start in a month.

One comment

  1. I think Ohio is right after Michigan. I’ve been looking for a new job since January. I got tired of it, changed my plans and am going back to school – switching to healthcare field. I’ll get my diploma in a year. You know, just a state tax in stores in our county is 7.75%. That’s insane! Cleveland OH and Detroit MI are one of the poorest cities in the nation :o(
    Don’t give up looking for a better paid job! It’s out there :o)



Leave a Reply

