h1

The One About Thursday Thirteens- 24th Edition

Thursday, August 21, 2008

I like long walks, especially when they’re taken by people who annoy me.
~Fred Allen

It’s time for the Thursday Thirteen again. If you have a Thursday Thirteen of your own, leave your website in the comments section and I’ll try my darndest to visit it )

Thirteen Pet Peeves

  1. People who chew with their mouth open… that includes chawing gum.  You aren’t a cow, stop acting like one.
  2. People who don’t speak properly when they clearly know how. What is with all the “street lingo” anyway?
  3. People who don’t use common courtesies… like please and thank you.  Come on, we all like to hear it–so don’t be a blight on society.
  4. People who always have something to complain about.  You know the type–the people you never want to ask “how’s it going?”
  5. People who don’t use their turn signal before they turn or shift lanes–B is very guilty about that.
  6. Anyone who litters.  And yes, throwing a cigarette butt on the ground is freakin’ littering!
  7. People who “play dumb.”  Paris Hilton, anyone? (and yes, I do believe she is actually smart)
  8. When I receive a forwarded joke or something and have to scroll down through hundreds of names and THEIR forwards to actually see the e-mail.  There’s a delete button for a reason… use it before you forward.
  9. People who forward “must read or you’ll die” type of e-mails without checking the validity first.  Snopes.com is a great website and you just have to copy a part of the e-mail and put it in their search function.  It’ll tell you if it is true or not.
  10. People who have no patience.  That includes driving, at a restaurant, etc. We all have things to do, 10 minutes won’t kill you… and if it does, then you are almost dead and have other things to worry about.
  11. Spam e-mail.  Why isn’t there a do-not-email list like the do-not-call list?
  12. Tweens and teens wearing suggestive clothing.  Come on, parents, “Juicy” written on the butt is not a good idea.
  13. Parents who think they need to be a friend to their kids and don’t discipline them.  You aren’t doing them a favor.  No, it’s not okay for Johnny scream until he gets what he wants.  I tried this ONCE with my mom and her response was, “Well, I was going to get that for you but now that you’re whining and crying, I’m not.”  That quickly shut me up and I never did that again.

So what are YOUR pet peeves?

11 comments

  1. I hate it when my husband (or someone at work) eats/uses the last of something and doesn’t put it on the list to be ordered!!!! Use some manners already….


  2. I hate when someone is going to be late and they don’t bother calling you.


  3. Those are pretty much the same as mine. Plus I hate when guys where pants that hang down past their butts, and their boxers show. And girls with tight pants, and muffin tops. lol.

    Happy TT!


  4. I agree with all of these, especially #9, 12, and 13. LOL @ # 10!!


  5. Although just about all of these bother me, I’m also guilty of a lot of these!

    #6 has always irked me though. My husband smokes and sees nothing wrong with it. I do. It bothers me to no end. He throws his cig butts out the window when driving. We just moved to a new place and he threw one over the balcony (and he almost went over with it!) I’m glad I am not alone on that one. Great list!


  6. Yup! That about summs it up on my annoy list as well :o) Oh and then there are the spam comments…


  7. #3 I deal with all the time. People also no longer know how to politely speak on the phone, things like beginning a conversation with Hello (NOT Who is this?) and ending it with Good-Bye.

    Happy TT!!!!


  8. I love Snopes, I hate email forwards and I *despise* pants with words written across the behind. I don’t need *anyone* reading my thirteen-year-old’s butt! Mine either for that matter, though I might could make some advertising dollars since it’s big enough for a billboard. 😉


  9. Oooh one of my pet peeves is when I’m on the phone with a customer and someone standing at my desk answers their cell phone. I can’t hear the customer I’m speaking to!


  10. I really like your list of pet peeves because I share them with you, and I would add lying and dishonesty. You are done with me if I find out you lied to me. I loathe that!

    If you can come by and read my 13 annoying things that get on my nerves about the Internet!


  11. my only pet peeve is people who talk incessantly in a class or seminar while the rest of us are trying to listeen



Leave a Reply

