h1

The One About the 100th Post

Friday, August 22, 2008

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.
~Ray Bradbury

And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise.  The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.
~Sylvia Plath

So this is my 100th post.  Wow. I can’t believe I’ve made it this far. I’ve met (virtually, anyway) many great “bloggy friends” along the way and hope to meet more of you in the future.

So in blogging tradition, for my 100th post, I’ll write down 100 things you may or may not know about me.  This will eventually become its own tab where I’ll keep the 100 things updated (hopefully).

1. I have a mother.
2. And a younger brother.
3. My father died unexpectedly when I was 22.
4. I am currently dating an active duty Navy sailor, B.
5. He’ll be going back to submarine duty sometime in the spring of 2009.
6. I plan to go with him.
7. I grew up in a small farming community in the northern part of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula.
8. Our town had 2,000 people in it.
9. It was the largest town in the county.
10. In fact, there was only one high school for all the kids in the county.
11. And yet, we still had under 1,000 students in the entire high school.
12. And yes, we had a “drive your tractor to school” day.
13. I didn’t have a tractor.
14. But my cousins who lived on the family dairy farm across the road from me did.
15. I grew up with a lot of animals.
16. Dogs.
17. Cats.
18. Rabbits.
19. Hamsters.
20. The occasional toad or turtle.
21. And horses.
22. I got my first horse when I was 5.
23. And started showing horses when I was 8.
24. Which sounds like we had a lot of money, but we didn’t… far from it.  The horses were bred and the babies paid for most of the horses’ upkeep.
25. My most favorite horse was my last one: a 16HH red dun named Impressive Gal Dun.
26. But her barn name when we got her at age 5 was “Sam.”
27. We also called her “Sammie.”
28. Or “Samantha” if I was irritated with her.
29. I miss Sam very much, even to this day.
30. Even though she was sold 9 years ago just before I went to college.
31. She’d be 19 now, if she is still alive.
32. I’d love to see her again and would love to let her live out her old age with me.
33. But I don’t have anywhere to keep her.
34. But I’d find a way if I had the opportunity to have her again.
35. When I was 15, my parents moved two hours south of where I grew up.
36. Starting at a new high school your Sophomore year is no fun.
37. Especially when you come from a very small, poor county and move to one of the richest ones in the state.
38. It wasn’t until halfway through my Junior year of high school that I stopped longing to return to my hometown.
39. I even made some good friends during that time.
40. I went to Grand Valley State University.
41. I began majoring in journalism because I wanted to be a reporter.
42. When I got to the “investigative reporting” classes, I decided I didn’t want to pry into people’s lives.
43. So even though I was only 2 classes shy of a journalism major, I switched majors.
44. I majored in advertising/public relations with an emphasis on public relations.
45. Even after switching majors, I managed to graduate in only 3 1/2 years.
46. I was lucky because a lot of my classes worked for both majors.
47. I love this field and am glad I ended up choosing it.
48. My favorite flower is the daisy.
49. I like them because no two are the same and they are spunky and unique.
50. I think Gerber Daisies are absolutely gorgeous because of all the colors they come in.
51. My boyfriend and I have three dogs.
52. Chase came to me as my third foster dog and I couldn’t let him go.
53. He’s a retired racing greyhound.
54. He’s nine years old and retired when he was five.
55. Lulu was my 7th foster… I think.
56. She came to me when she was 4 1/2 months old.
57. She’s now two.
58. She’s a greyhound but never raced and came from a totally different situation.  See the “My Animals” tab for more information.
58. Skah (Matoskah) is a Great Pyrenees that B and I got together.
59. He was born in January 2008, so he’s still very much a puppy.
60. I also have two cats.
61. Sadie is 7 and I got her when she was just 3 1/2 weeks old after her feral mother left her litter at the lumberyard where my dad worked.
62. She hates strangers and only comes to you when SHE wants attention.
63. But she only comes to B and me.
64. Jake is 4 and I got him from an animal shelter.
65. I picked him out when he was just four weeks old.
66. We also have two Betta fish.
67. They are named Diablo and Beta.
68. Beta is the replacement for Alpha who died after three years.
69. Get it? Alpha Betta and Beta Betta?
70. I’ve been a waitress.
71. And a ranch YMCA camp counselor.
72. And a resident assistant for college freshmen girls.
73. And a summer intern at a zoo, where I did animal demonstrations.
74. The demonstrations included snakes, lizards, rabbits, chinchillas, birds and even an opposum.
75. I’ve also worked as a teller at a bank.
76. And I currently work in public relations, which I love.
77. Oh, and I also worked at Wal-Mart.
78. And after being treated like crud by a manager who didn’t like me and the assistant store manager she was sleeping with (they were both married), I gave my notice.
79. It was a 2 day notice.  Five days before Christmas.
80. And because of that, I was told I’m never allowed to work at Wal-Mart again.
81. Oh woe is me, what ever shall I do? =P
82. I’ve been to Canada.
83. I actually had a penpal there that I met… we had the same first and last name (which is an uncommon one) and our middle names are the first 3 letters of our mothers’ names.
84. I’ve also been to Costa Rica.
85. I went there with my Spanish Club when I was 16.
86. That was the best trip I have ever taken.
87. I saved enough money to go to the Dominican Republic with two friends to celebrate our high school graduation.
88. On the way there, we changed planes in Puerto Rico.
89. Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic is a beautiful place.
90. I want to go back, but I want to visit Santo Domingo the next time.
91. I’d love to visit Denmark and Scotland… where my family is from.
92. And Europe, and Mexico, and England, and… oh heck, I just want to TRAVEL more.
93. I’m a bit disappointed that B can only ever be in one of two bases because I’d love to be based abroad for a few years.
94. One day, I want to write a book.
95. I don’t know what genre… history, a romance, a children’s book–I just want to write!
96. My ultimate dream is to open a camp for kids with terminal diseases and their siblings. Like a traditional summer camp, only with some modifications like an on-site hospital/clinic with doctors/nurses who volunteer their time and can do any treatments the kids need at the time.
97. Because I think that kids should be able to have normal kid memories… not just of hospitals and treatments.
98. And I think sometimes the siblings of ill children get the short end of their parents’ time… so they should get a few weeks of “fun time” just for themselves.
99. But I have no idea how I’d ever find the money/support for it or even get it started. So I doubt it’ll ever happen.
100. I can’t believe I actually found 100 things to say.  Wow.

3 comments

  1. Scotland is beautiful…absolutely lovely but outrageously expensive so save lots and lots of dough for that trip! And as far as the museum…we’ve actually never been there, can you believe it? I’m sure my son would love it!


  2. congrats on your 100th post! yea!!!


  3. Finding 100 things is not as easy as it looks. Congrats on the milestone!



Leave a Reply

