h1

The One About Being Fit in 14 Weeks

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Those who think they have not time for bodily exercise will sooner or later have to find time for illness.
~Edward Stanley

I admit it… I’m not the best at exercising.  Mostly because until I was 22 or so, I didn’t need to.  I was one of those girls in high school who could eat anything she wanted and still barely fill out a size 2.

At the end of college, I was a size 10.  I lost weight a few years ago and returned to a healthy 4/6.  Then last year, I fell ill and had to take steroids and other nasty stuff and now I’m back up to a 10.  I want to get back down to a healthier weight for me.

But now I’m finding that it is necessary and I can always find ways to avoid it: gym memberships are too expensive, working out for an hour plus the commute to the gym takes too much time, I feel like I have no one to push me on, etc.

This time, though, I think I have devised a way to fix that.  But I want to create an online group of people who are struggling to do the same thing.  I think it would help everyone out and we could all do our healthy thing together.

The exercise plan is just that… a plan. I have to admit that I didn’t make it up–it’s a 14-week plan put together by the military for people who are getting themselves ready to go to boot camp.  But don’t worry, it’s all self-discipline, just like any other exercise program.  And I took a look at it and thought… hey, I can do that.  It’s a great gradual increase and I think that we could all do it if we wanted to.  I hate running.  I can’t run 1/4 mile without getting winded… but I think I can do this.

Now, there is nothing saying that you can’t repeat a week if you aren’t ready for the next week.  And of course you can add in exercises if you want to.

Here’s the plan (each one completed in one session 3-5 times a week):

Week 1: 26 Minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 2 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 5 minute walk
  • 1 minute jog
  • 5 minute walk
  • 1 minute jog
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

Week 2: 30 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 2 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 5 minute walk
  • 3 minute jog
  • 5 minute walk
  • 3 minute jog
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

Week 3: 32 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 2 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 4 minute walk
  • 5 minute jog
  • 4 minute walk
  • 5 minute jog
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

Week 4: 34 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 4 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 4 minute walk
  • 5 minute jog
  • 4 minute walk
  • 5 minute jog
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

Week 6: 38 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 4 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 4 minute walk
  • 7 minute jog
  • 4 minute walk
  • 7 minute jog
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

Week 7: 42 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 6 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 4 minute walk
  • 8 minute jog
  • 4 minute walk
  • 8 minute jog
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch


Week 8: 44 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 6 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 4 minute walk
  • 9 minute jog
  • 4 minute walk
  • 9 minute jog
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

Week 9: 33 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 4 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 4 minute walk
  • 13 minute run
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

Week 10: 35 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 4 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 4 minute walk
  • 15 minute run
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

Week 11: 35 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 2 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 4 minute walk
  • 17 minute run
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

Week 12: 32 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 2 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 1 minute walk
  • 17 minute run
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch


Week 13: 35 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 2 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 2 minute walk
  • 2 minute jog
  • 17 minute run
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch


Week 14: 34 minutes

  • 5 minute stretch/warm-up
  • 2 minute sit-up/push-up intervals
  • 3 minute jog
  • 17 minute run
  • 3-5 minute walk
  • 2 minute stretch

I’m going to add this to my tabs at the top, too, so it is easier to find.

Leave a Reply

