h1

The One About Thursday Thirteens- 28th Edition

Thursday, September 25, 2008

Find a job you like and you add five days to every week.
~H. Jackson Browne

It’s time for the Thursday Thirteen again. If you have a Thursday Thirteen of your own, leave your website in the comments section and I’ll try my darndest to visit it )

Because I’m looking for a second job, I thought this would be an appropriate topic.

Thirteen Jobs I’ve Considered In My Lifetime (and haven’t done, or haven’t yet done):

  1. Pediatrician.  I think this was my first dream in life when I was really little.
  2. Teacher.  I love teaching… but I’m not sure I could put up with kids today and their lack of discipline in general.
  3. Nurse.  I love taking care of people.  I don’t love science.  But I’d be way better off if I did!
  4. Journalist/reporter. I actually went to college thinking this is what I was going to do.  I switched majors late in my freshman year, but still am only 3 credits away from a major in journalism.
  5. Ranch hand.  Seriously, I’d love this.  I also dreamed of marrying a cowboy so I could live in the country the rest of my life.
  6. Photographer. I’ve never had formal training, but I think I could be good at it if I did.
  7. Race horse masseuse.  I thought I had made this up when I was younger (thinking the rich people who race horses would pay big money for a horse masseuse to work on their prized animals)… but I recently found out it really is a job.
  8. Veterinarian.  I would 100% love this job.  But again, I 100% hate science classes.
  9. Vet tech.  I think it would be a fun job.  But it doesn’t pay anymore than what I do now, so there’s no reason to go back to school for it.
  10. Manager/owner of a camp for children with life-threatening diseases.  Yup, still want to do this and the plan is in my head… I just don’t think it’ll ever come to fruition.
  11. Dog/cat “bed and biscuit” business owner.  I’d love to take care of animals for a living and get paid.  People would come back time and time again to board their beloved pets with me because they’d receive such good care.  Alas, I don’t have the capital for that.
  12. Jockey/horse exerciser.  You can see where my passion is, right?  Animals!  At least I get to exercise horses now, though I’m not paid (ooops… did I let the cat out of the bag?).
  13. Navy Reserve Officer.  This may or may not be something I’m thinking of pursuing right now.

So what jobs have you thought about in your lifetime but never done?

6 comments

  1. I watched a horse masseuse working a few months ago. Not on a race horse, though. Just one of the local quarter horses.


  2. I would totally want to be number eight. But my problem is chemistry classes. Same goes for crime scene investigator *sigh*


  3. Journalist/reporter would be the one in your list that appeals to me.
    http://cafeendofuniverse.blogspot.com/2008/09/thursday-thirteen-49-i-love-you.html


  4. Wow #7 is surely one of the most unique careers I have ever heard of!


  5. Oh photographer! I’d love to try it!


  6. I always wanted to be Blue Peter Presenter (Kid’s activity/magazine programme in the UK which has run for 40 years) as I have a great fondness for making things out of old packaging…



Leave a Reply

