h1

The One About Trying to Join the Navy Reserve

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

A leader has the vision and conviction that a dream can be achieved.  He inspires the power and energy to get it done.
~Ralph Nader

I guess in my last post I mentioned something about Navy standards for the 1.5 mile run, sit-ups and push-ups.  You were probably wondering what I was talking about.

I have decided to pursue a Navy Reserve Officer commission.  I’m trying to get a Public Affairs Officer position, but my second choice is Intelligence.  It’s not going to be easy.  I was told they normally take one or two people out of about 2,400 applicants each year.  This year (FY 2009, which starts Oct 1), they are taking 20-24.  So my chances go from one in 2,400 to one in 100… pretty good odds.  Still hard, but I look at it as though I have 20 times more of a chance this year.

If I was granted this commission, I’d go for two weeks of training to learn military protocol (including how to put on military uniforms and press them).  Of course, there would be PT (physical training) during that time as well.  Afterward, I’d do the one weekend a month and two weeks a year thing.

I have a lot of things to do to get ready for trying to get the commission. I have to find people to give me excellent letters of recommendation and there are tons of forms and papers to fill out.  Then I have to be interviewed by two Navy Officers where they will ask me hard questions, off-the-wall questions, questions about the Navy and definitely questions about current events.

I have to show that I’m a leader, that I can inspire people and guide them to do great things.  I know I am a leader… I just have to prove it.  Wish me luck!

3 comments

  1. Good luck! You have to keep me posted on how is that going.


  2. Wow! You go, girl. I wish you the best of luck!

    I thought hard about whether or not to join you on the fitness thing. The thinking wore me out. So, I decided I’d better not. Thanks so much for inviting me, though! I’ll be watching your progress.


  3. Best of luck…

    …save me a spot there with you…



Leave a Reply

